Est. 1936
Wooburn Narkovians Cricket Club
Scorecard & Report
Saturday 10th June 2000 | TVL Division 5

Wooburn Narkovians 2nd XI

191 all out


Bagshot 2nd XI

185 - 6

Match Drawn
Points: Wooburn Narkovians 11, Bagshot 9
Hide the Report

Match Report

Match Report


An excellent display from Jason Degelas failed to bring Wooburn Narkovians 2nds victory in a close Thames Valley League encounter with Bagshot. The Wooburn all-rounder followed a superb innings of 89, with a testing spell of pace bowling that brought him two wickets, though it could easily have been many more. The benign nature of the pitch ultimately failed Wooburn\‘s bowlers, and a late flurry from Bagshot\‘s lower order came close to giving the visitors the points.

At the start of the game, Wooburn struggled against some tight seam bowling, and found themselves in trouble at 44-4 when Degelas arrived at the crease. The recovery started with a little stand with Richard Barker, but two quick wickets left Wooburn in trouble again at 79-6. Phil Day helped Degelas add 29 before temptation got the better of him.

Bagshot must now have hoped for an easy victory target as young Sam Togwell made his way out to the middle. However, Degelas and Togwell went onto the attack. The fun ended when Degelas missed a full toss within touching distance of a well-deserved hundred. Fifteen-year old Togwell was eventually last man out after scoring an accomplished 37, and Bagshot\‘s target was 192 in 53 overs.

Bagshot\‘s openers started cautiously and the first wicket was a long time coming for Wooburn\‘s bowlers, but Day finally had an lbw shout upheld. Wood and Haynes hung around for a long time, and Degelas eventually ended Dawson\‘s innings, but Clarke batted well, while Rice rod his luck. It was Clarke who went next, edging Degelas to Stuart Savage behind the stumps. Sam Togwell then capped a good day for him by picking up Atkinson\‘s wicket. With 65 required off the last 10 overs and only four wickets remaining, Wooburn were confident of victory. Rice and Baker now appeared intent on survival, and frustrated the Wooburn bowlers.

Forty-one were needed from the last four overs, when Baker switched to attack. He connected well with some lusty blows, but when the last over started Bagshot still needed 20. The equation came down to 12 off 3 balls, but it was not to be, the Surrey side ending 6 runs shy for the loss of 6 wickets. Both teams had to settle for a draw, after an entertaining and hard-fought encounter.

Maidenhead Advertiser


Wooburn Narkovians 2nd XI

Batter Runs Mins Balls 4s 6s SR
D.J. Rogers c M. Clarke b A. Brown 3
A.J. Cuthbert c T. Rice b J. Atkinson 16 3
T. Nawaz c N. Baker b J. Atkinson 7
S.A. Savage c T. Rice b A. Brown 16 2 1
R.N. Barker b A. Brown 12 2
J. Degelas b J. Atkinson 89 11 1
J.R. Saunders b M. Clarke 1
P.A. Day c B. Funnell b M. Clarke 4
S. Togwell c T. Rice b F. Wood 37 6
P.B. Clarke c B. Funnell b J. Atkinson 2
Q. Ahmed not out 0
Extras 1nb 0w 0b 3lb 4
Total (46.3 overs) 191-10
Bowler Overs Maidens Runs Wickets Econ
J. Atkinson 14.0 3 34 4 2.4
A. Brown 21.0 1 93 3 4.4
M. Clarke 10.0 3 43 2 4.3
F. Wood 1.3 0 18 1 10.0
Fall of Wicket Batsman Out
5-1 D.J. Rogers
21-2 T. Nawaz
36-3 A.J. Cuthbert
45-4 S.A. Savage
76-5 R.N. Barker
79-6 J.R. Saunders
111-7 P.A. Day
159-8 J. Degelas
189-9 P.B. Clarke
191-10 S. Togwell

Bagshot 2nd XI

Batter Runs Mins Balls 4s 6s SR
R.A. McGuiness lbw P. Day 20 1 1
I. Dawson b J. Degelas 22 3
F. Wood c P. Day b Q. Ahmed 7 1
A.N. Haynes c P. Day b R. Barker 11 2
M. Clarke c S. Savage b J. Degelas 23 4
T. Rice not out 44 6
J. Atkinson c R. Barker b S. Togwell 11 2
N. Baker not out 32 3 1
B. Funnell 0
A. Brown 0
J. Lockwood 0
Extras 2nb 2w 8b 2lb 14
Total (53.0 overs) 185-6
Bowler Overs Maidens Runs Wickets Econ
P.A. Day 12.0 1 40 1 3.3
Q. Ahmed 10.0 3 28 1 2.8
J. Degelas 15.0 3 49 2 3.3
R.N. Barker 8.0 2 30 1 3.8
P.B. Clarke 3.0 0 18 0 6.0
S. Togwell 5.0 2 9 1 1.8
Fall of Wicket Batsman Out
33-1 R. McGuiness
45-2 F. Wood
69-3 A. Haynes
71-4 I. Dawson
110-5 M. Clarke
135-6 J. Atkinson

Start Time: 13:30
Toss: Bagshot won the toss and decided to bowl.
Venue: Wooburn Park
© 2010 - 2021 Wooburn Narkovians Cricket Club